Migraines

WARNING!!!!  I get very personal sometimes when talking about my illnesses and condition and just overall body issues. I have gotten very comfortable talking about things that might be gross or seem like TMI to some. Just thought I’d throw that out there now.

So I’ve been feeling very drained today (more than normal). I felt it in my face too, like the muscles around my eyes and mouth just felt dead and saggy.

I also felt like I had a lot of trouble concentrating and looking at a computer screen for very long. It’s like my body wants me to shut out everything; light, sound, even smells and temperatures.

I’ve had a lot of experience with these symptoms. It’s usually what happens leading up to a migraine.

I’ve them for years (since before high school). I’m now 28 which is so weird because I still feel like a teenager in some ways. But then I see how teenagers and even people in their early twenties act and I’m like, yep, I’m 28.

I have a few migraine triggers that I know of but then sometimes I feel like I am not sure why they happen.

The triggers that I know of are, sugar (had to give up sweet tea and it broke my heart), being awake for too long, being in a loud environment for too long, being physically active (mostly outdoors) for too long, eating too much Italian (which I had yesterday) and always always always my period causes one before and even sometimes after (which I just got off of one).

So of course, today I have a migraine. I figured if I was going to get one anyway because of my period, might as well enjoy some Italian food. God I love some Fettuccine Alfredo!

Also, the weather can trigger them. I am not sure if it’s just storms or if it’s like an overcast day that can cause them. I don’t keep track of those as well. The weather also affects my overall feeling. My joints are worse on stormy or rainy days.

I also have different severity levels of migraines. Sometimes they hit me really hard and fast and I’m completely helpless and have to go straight to bed and stay there very still and quiet. Those types come with a lot of nausea and it’s awful!

Sometimes they start off slow and I can tell it’s happening and I take Excedrin right away and then I’m just in a fog for the next 24 hours. I can’t really think straight and I have trouble putting my thoughts into words. Although every migraine always comes with a ton of brain fog and trouble concentrating or doing anything that takes brain power.

I worry that sometimes when I have a lighter migraine, that people might think I’m faking it. Because I know how bad migraines can get and I’ve been bed bound many times because of them. But sometimes I catch it early and can actually do little things slowly and I worry that other people who have them will think I’m faking it because I have them so often.

I used to have one a week. Now I have maybe 2 or 3 month. I don’t know what I would do without Excedrin Migraine. I remember when the recall happened and I was literally just out of luck that entire time. IT was the longest time of my life waiting on those to come back on the shelf.

I remember standing in Walgreens one day and I hadn’t realized that Excedrin was back yet and I looked over and saw all those beautiful little boxes just calling out to me! That was a great day!

***Possible TMI coming*** 

*** One thing about Excedrin that I love (beside the pain relief) is that it always makes me poop! Yep, I am one of those people that caffeine can cause my digestion to move things along. I have always had bowel issues since I was very young and that is just sort of an added bonus for me when I have to take Excedrin. ***

Well that about wraps this up!

If you suffer from migraines, I am so sorry that you know my struggle. If you don’t, there are not enough words in the human language to describe the torture to you.

If you have migraines and triggers and cures or things that help you through it, feel free to let me know about it! ❤

 

Leave a Reply

